FinCEN updates FBAR relief notice to cover all 49 counties

The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) on Thursday issued an updated notice, adding three counties - Brevard, Orange and Osceola - to its list of those receiving an extended deadline to file Reports of Foreign Bank and Financial Account (FBARs).

Per the notice: "Victims of [Hurricane Idalia] will have until February 15, 2024, to file FBARs for the 2022 calendar year. As set out in the notice, FinCEN is offering this expanded relief to any area designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as qualifying for individual assistance, and for additional counties the Internal Revenue Service provided expanded tax relief for."

The FinCEN notice now includes Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia and Wakulla as counties receiving relief.

FinCEN's original notice omitted Brevard, Orange and Osceola, which were later added to the IRS' list of those receiving relief. As we did with the IRS, we asked FinCEN for clarification on the three counties named above, confirming they are indeed eligible for relief.

The updated notice appears in full below.

    Return to Blogs