FICPA History

Printer Friendly
Text Size: A A A A
Image: Attendees During 1935 Annual Convention

The Florida Institute of CPA was founded on April 20, 1905. Florida became the 8th state to pass an accountancy act when Gov. Napoleon Bonaparte Broward signed it into law on June 5, 1905.

Walter Mucklow, T.G. Hutchinson and two other Florida accountants envisioned an association that would promote the exchange of ideas; enhance confidence in public accountants among businessmen; and encourage a high standard of efficiency in the science of accounting and the art of bookkeeping. These four men lobbied the Legislature and pushed through the first accountancy law in the Southern states. They created an accountancy exam. In 1916, they organized into a group of CPAs under the name of the Florida Society of Certified Public Accountants.

In 1955, the Florida Society of Certified Public Accountants was renamed the Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants (FICPA). At the time, there were 811 members and 350 candidates sat for the CPA exam.

With interests in building a governmental relations program, the Board of Governors voted in 1979 to relocate the FICPA's headquarters to Tallahassee, Florida. In 1985, the FICPA moved into its new, official headquarters within walking distance of the Florida State Capitol. Four years later, the building was expanded. When it celebrated its 100-year anniversary on April 20, 2005, it represented more than 18,400 CPAs throughout Florida. Authors Lloyd "Buddy" Turman and Heidi Tyline King published a paperback book titled "FICPA: Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants" in 2005 commemorating the milestone.

The FICPA aims to uphold the high standards of the accounting profession and ensure its continued growth and success. The organization employs 65 association professionals, who focus on programs to enhance members' competency and professionalism; support standards of independence, integrity and objectivity that also are in the public interest; promote community involvement; and monitor and actively participate in the public policy-making process.

Past FICPA Presidents/Chairs

Name Term Served
Jeff Barbacci 2014-15
Ken Strauss 2013-14
Scott Price 2012-13
Stam Stathis 2011-12
Michael R. Pender Jr 2010-11
Jose Valiente 2009-10
Ben A. "Steve" Stevens, III 2008-09
David L. "Dave" Dennis 2007-08
Beryl H. "Berri" Davis 2006-07
Richard A. Berkowitz 2005-06
Tommye E. Barie 2004-05
Dominic C. "Dom" Pino 2003-04
Winston K. Howell 2002-03
J. Stephen Nouss 2001-02
Ron Thompkins 2000-01
Jeffrey H. Greene 1999-00
Carol P. Deegan 1998-99
Barbara A. Burner 1997-98
Wayne N. "Skipp" Fraser 1996-97
Alan C. Fisk 1995-96
Randy W. Moore 1994-95
Ramon A. Rodriguez 1993-94
Robert J. Batson 1992-93
John R. Rowe Jr. 1991-92
Robert R. Harris 1990-91
William D. Pruitt 1989-90
Scott T. Rhine 1988-89
Wilber G. Van Scoik 1987-88
E. M. "Jim" Campbell Jr. 1986-87
Sharon C. Brown 1985-86
James M. Lane 1984-85
Arthur J. Stites 1983-84
*Jack E. Brooks 1982-83
*Raymond L. Crippen 1981-82
Morton L. Weinberger 1980-81
Patrick J. Knipe 1979-80
Donald P. Zima 1978-79
Harold E. Walker 1977-78
Russell S. Bogue Jr. 1976-77
I. Jerry Bloom 1975-76
*Louis W. Dooner 1974-75
Jerome A. Schine 1973-74
Robert C. Ellyson 1972-73
James T. Lang 1971-72
*Drakon B. Odom 1970-71
Jerrold S. Trumbower 1969-70
*Harry E. Hurst 1968-69
*James W. Kindelan 1967-68
*George E. Tornwall Jr. 1966-67
*Arthur L. Shealy Jr. 1965-66
*Robert F. Stonerock 1964-65
*Barney Bernstein 1963-64
*Jack W. Lucas 1962-63
*Richard E. Darby 1961-62
*William Bond 1960-61
*Thomas E. Triplett 1959-60
*R. Bob Smith 1958-59
*Lyndon C. Conlon 1957-58
*Richard L. Barnes 1956-57
*Mark W. Eastland Jr. 1955-56
*Robert M. Altemus 1954-55
*Harry W. Bower 1953-54
*Jewell A. Davis 1952-53
*Charles S. Roberts 1951-52
*Gordon P. Blitch 1950-51
*Roy L. Purvis 1949-50
*Robert M. Morgan 1948-49
*Paul R. Smoak 1947-48
*Russell S. Bogue 1946-47
*O. J. Oosterhoudt 1945-46
*Leonard L. Abess 1944-45
*Charles H. Lindfors 1943-44
*Joseph A. Sweeney 1942-43
*Claude K. Milligan 1941-42
*Manuel A. Montenegro 1940-41
*James I. Keller Jr. 1939-40
*Harry M. Turnburke 1938-39
*Prim W. Fisher 1937-38
*R. Warner Ring 1936-37
*Charles H. Goodrich 1935-36
*Charles C. Potter 1934-35
*Frank Brooks Colley 1933-34
*Elon Russell Sheldon 1932-33
*Benjamin E. James 1931-32
*Hugh F. Purvis 1930-31
*Jay E. Bigham 1929-30
*Walter Muckalow 1928-29