How to Permanently Delete Your LinkedIn Account

Printer Friendly
Text Size: A A A A

http://www.groovypost.com

When it comes to social networks and privacy controls, LinkedIn is one of the best. But, despite good policies and user controls, they still know a good amount about you. If you decide you don't want LinkedIn harvesting your data, you can delete your account.

However, when you delete a LinkedIn account it doesn't mean that all your data is immediately wiped from its backup drives. According to the Linkedin privacy policy:

"LinkedIn will retain your information for so long as your account is active or as needed to provide you services, except in the case of our professional plugin impression data, which we de-identify after 12 months. If you wish to close your account, you may do so here. We will retain and use your information as necessary to comply with our legal obligations, resolve disputes, and enforce this Agreement."

Thankfully, LinkedIn seems to care more about your privacy than other networks. So if you don't want to wait for LinkedIn's automated removal process:

"You may request deletion of your information at any time by contacting LinkedIn customer service. We will respond to your request within 30 days. Please note, however that information you have shared with others, or that other Users have copied, may also remain visible even if you request its deletion."

Login, and then click the Settings button from your account menu at the top right of any LinkedIn page.

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

Scroll down the settings page and click the Account tab. From here, click Close your account.

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

The first account deletion page will ask you why you want to delete. You can list whichever reason you want. Click Continue to confirm deletion.

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

LinkedIn will ask you to confirm you are closing the correct account.

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

In case the last two pages weren't enough, LinkedIn will ask you one more time to confirm closing your account. This is the point of no return. Once you click close on this page, your account will be logged out and public profile erased within 24 hours

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

The last thing you'll see is a page confirming the account was closed. From here on, your account will be logged out and no longer accessible. Within 24 hours the email you had associated with it will be usable to open a new account, if you wish.

Image: Tech Tip - July 9, 2012

That's all there is to deleting a LinkedIn account. As far as social networks go, it's a vastly improved experience over deleting a Twitter or Facebook account.


This Tech Tip is brought to you by the Business and Technology Section ... IT solutions for today's CPAs. For more information and to view an archive of previous Tech Tips, please visit us here.

Do you have specific topics you would like to see covered in Tech Tips? Email any suggestions to communications@ficpa.org.

LAST UPDATED 7/9/2012